Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge-Week 7-Sketch Effects

snappyhappy-galactic

Well, as I was very busy building my new Shopify website, I initially missed weeks 7 thru 10 of the Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge.  But I want my photo grid complete with host We Live in a Flat (and co-host Fire Bonnet), so am going ahead and competing entries for these (and back dating so they are archived in order).

Week 7 Photo Challenge:  Art-Sketch Effects

We Live in a Flat gives a more full description of sketching via Wikipedia:

Sketches can be made in any drawing medium. The term is most often applied to graphic work executed in a dry media such as silverpoint,graphite, pencil, charcoal or pastel. But it may also apply to drawings executed in pen and ink, ballpoint pen, water colour and oil paint. The latter two are generally referred to as “water colour sketches” and “oil sketches”. – wikipedia

And yes it is true that we now digitally have the ability to turn our photos into sketches (and watercolors, and oil paints, etc.).  I really like the look of the Camera360 app that she tested, so added it to my growing group of photo apps on my iPhone.  This one was free!

It took me a minute to figure out where the “sketch” effect was in this app.  You have to select the big + button to enter the effects store.  From there they list the different effects offered; all are free.  Once selected the effects you like are installed onto your main effects screen for use.  A total of nine sketch effects are offered.  I liked “surreal”, “years”, “color”, and “light”.  Did not particularly care for the rest.  And, ways to save are a little odd in that you export to your camera roll, and if not careful with your “finger placement” on your phone screen you will just re-save your original.

Here are the final results.  I used a photo taken of Peyton this morning on a neutral background.

I think I like sketch #3-Color best.  I think a darker subject would have worked out better for this effect, although there is quite a bit of contrast between Peyton and the almost white background.  The “Years” sketch is also nice, although it really just looks like a b&w photo conversion, rather than a sketch.

Give me your thoughts!